God’s Peace

It’s Friday morning rush hour. Cars whiz by this way and that way. Moms and Dads are in a  hurry to get to work. College students have to get to class before the professor begins his lecture.
Suddenly the world stops while a mother duck leads her ducklings across the busy street. Hearts soften, and faces crack open with  smiles as a family of ducks announces God’s presence in Anytown, USA. For a few  quiet moments people roll down their windows, smell the jasmine, and experience peace, a peace that passes understanding, God’s  peace.
Not so for the people several cars back. Drivers get frustrated  because they don’t know what’s holding things up. A young man gets out of  his car and walks down to investigate. His heart softens when he sees the  ducks. God’s creation penetrates his impatience and peace overcomes  him.

Gracious and holy God, thank you for  pleasant interruptions of your extravagant peace in a world that races by. Thank  you for the ducks. Thank you for always being with us. Amen.

3 responses to this post.

  1. This looks like the modern day version of “Make Way for Ducklings” by Robert McClosky. I assume you have heard this story, but if not, you should look it up. It is an early Caldecott Award book.

    Reply

  2. No, I haven’t heard of this story, but I’ll look it up and read it. My story came to me while I was getting my grandchildren ready for school. Their mom called me while she sat in traffice waiting for a mama duck to lead her babies across Sunrise Blvd., a busy street in Sacramenot, CA. I found the picture in an image collection, but didn’t know it was popular on the Internet. I actually thought I created something quite original. Oh well. Thank you, Janice, for referring me to “Make Way for Ducklings.” I can’t wait to read it.

    Reply

  3. That’s supposed to be Sacramento, not Sacramenot. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

